Skip to main content


Darlene Walker

CHS Counselor
CISD Testing Coordinator
State Testing Programs

STAAR measures a student's mastery of the state-mandated curriculum, the TEKS.  All eligible Texas public school students are assessed in mathematics in grades 3-8; reading language arts in grades 3-8,  science in grades 5 and 8; and social studies in grade 8.  Eligible students may meet testing requirements with Spanish versions of the STAAR assessments, available in grades 3-5.  Students in grades 9 - 12 will take the STAAR End-of-Course tests.  The EOC consists of 5 course specific tests including Algebra I, Biology, US History, English I, and English II.

STAAR (Alternative) is an alternate assessment based on alternate academic achievement standards and is designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities receiving special education services who meet the participation requirements.

The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System assesses the progress that grade K-12 ELLs make in learning the English language.  TELPAS assesses second language development in the domains of listening, speaking, reading and writing.  Multiple-choice assessments are used to assess reading in grades 2-12.  For the other grades and domains, holistically rated assessments based on student observations and written student work are used.